πLooking back on 10 years of Mirrorless (via) It's been 10 years since mirrorless cameras hit the scene, and what a ride it's been!
Parachut Gear Drop 1 A well-known photographer once claimed that painters don't spend hours arguing about brushes. He's totally off the mark. Every time I tell my artist friends about that statement, they get the giggles. Painters totally spend hours arguing about brushes, snap, bristle material, shape, sizeβ¦
πThe Four Thirds (not to be confused with the Micro 4/3rds) system is no more... (via) Before the first m43 body came out, but after it was clear that the 4/3rds system was no more, I figured that it really needed to go in theβ¦
The Olympus E-M5 Mark II A brief history: When the first Micro 4/3rds camera came out, I didn't buy it, but I knew right away where things were going. I waited through the earliest bodies, all of which were SLR-styled and not especially compact. Then, eventually the Digital PEN mockup came out, followed by the E-P1. Iβ¦
πHands On with The New Godox AD200 Pocket Flash (via) This looks like a nice flash with the properties that I love about my Sunpak 622's...
πKodak Ektachrome 100 is coming back! (via) Kodak Ektachrome film is actually going to come back from the dead!
Good photography is Presence, Skill, Lens, Equipment It's hard to really describe what makes one photograph awesome and another one bad in such a way that the meanings of the words that I presently use to represent abstract ideas in my brain map to the same mysteriously indescribable abstract ideas in your brain. So it's how I view the art right now, but it's probably verifiably wrong in all sorts of ways.
DxO Optics 9.5: Awesome optics, glaring UI flaws I mostly hate image organization and RAW conversion tools. Part of the problem is that the RAW conversion is a moving target. Every RAW format is a bit different, which is going to make life living hell for the archivists of 2100. And new features have been added to the RAW conversion as time has gone on -- many modern digital lenses are designed for some degree of optical deconvolution at the RAW conversion stage.
The best camera is the one you've got with you... or a mirrorless convert I really hate that my new phone doesn't have a keyboard. I've been using phones with keyboards on them for quite some time and I'm kinda annoyed that the whims of the marketplace have meant that nobody buys a keyboarded phone anymore. On the bright side, my phone now has a decently good camera, maybe as good as the previous generation of iPhone cameras. It's pretty good and it really demonstrates why people aren't buying compact cameras anymore. Why carry a camera that's only mildly better than your phone's camera when your phone is there in your pocket?