🔗Olympus PEN E-P3 announced and previewed (via) I think we're nearing the point at which I start to actively think about buying something like this to replace my now-ancient G7 instead of figuring that if my G7 actually dies, that's what I'd get.
🔗The Pentax Q System (via) *yawn*. It's going to be the most expensive tiny-sensor camera since the days of the Canon Pro90 IS. It's pretty much like the new version of the Pentax Auto 110 system.
And this time, it may not actually sell that poorly because it's sexy, retro, better than a cameraphone, and everybody's used to small sensor cameras. But I'm pretty sure that I'm not the intended audience.
🔗Camera Musings... (via) Another dedicated photographer's musings on compact cameras...
🔗Panasonic GF2 announced and previewed (via) The day at which I replace my G7 with a fancy big-sensor compact draws ever nearer.... here's the latest Micro 4/3rds camera.
🔗You Can't Do That With Medium Format (via) This is pretty much me, except instead of using a digital back, I still use film...
🔗Kodak says there is a resurgence for film (via) I know some established pros who are shooting film who were formerly digital heads. And I sometimes print black and white at a darkroom populated largely by people under 30. Apparently the draw of film is not just in my imagination...
🔗Olympus to End Development of 4/3rds Lenses (via) Oddly, even though I spend more time every day on my bike than using my camera, I'm far more interested in Photokina than Interbike (the cycling trade show going on). Although, to be fair, the Photokinas between the EOS and F4 announcement and the Canon D30 were also probably a bit boring.
Olympus has a head-start on compact cameras with the Micro 4/3rds system... so they are reducing the energy they spend on the full-sized 4/3rds system. And, honestly, I kinda think they lost the SLR war but have been lusting after a Micro 4/3rds camera.
🔗Beautiful Fuji (via) The Fuji X100 looks absolutely killer. I feel giant surges of cameralust just looking at it.... not necessarily because of the retro-styling... really in spite of the cloying retro styling.
I'm also curious what
the Olympus compact camera will end up looking like... and what the version 2 of the X100 will be like.